The Scottish Vision Group (SVG) is an assembly of regional vision researchers and mailing list whose purpose is to foster interaction between different laboratories involved in research on visual perception in and around Scotland. Typical messages inform members of forthcoming events (such as seminars and conferences) and job announcements.

To be added or removed from the mailing list, please send an e-mail to svg-join@psy.gla.ac.uk to subscribe and svg-leave@psy.gla.ac.uk to unsubscribe. If you want to announce, inform, request or comment please send your e-mail to svg@psy.gla.ac.uk

The annual meetings are organised by various colleagues at different universities.

Save the Date! Scottish Vision Group Meeting, 2022

Location: TBA


Online Conference date: March 26th,

Deadline for abstracts: Monday, February 22nd

Dear Scottish Vision Group & friends,

We are pleased to announce that the registration for SVG online meeting to be held on 26th March 2021 is now live. Please follow the EventBrite link for more details and registration: 

Event Registration 

The event is completely free and the first 50 registered members will be sent a pair of 3D glasses (thanks to the support from School of Psychology, University of Aberdeen) which will come in handy for the exciting demonstrations Nicholas Wade plans to show us! 

Also, a reminder that the abstract submission closes on the 22nd of February 2021. Please do forward this invitation to any early career researchers who might benefit from it. The abstracts can be submitted via the following link: 

Abstract Submission

We are looking forward to seeing you virtually in March, 

Ana, Danai, Alex, Becky & Maliha

The SVG Organizing Team

Last Meetings

Guest Speakers and Locations

SVG2020 – cancelled

SVG2019 Ian Gilchrist (Bristol University), Sabhal Mor Ostaig, Isle of Skye, (organisers Alasdair Clarke, Anna Hughes, and Minjung Kim) 
SVG2018 Marc Ernst (Ulm University), Ballachulish Hotel, Glencoe (organiser D Vishwanath)
SVG2017 Kathleen Mullen (McGill University, Montreal CN), Robert Hess (McGill University, Montreal CN),  Kinloch Hotel, Blackwaterfoot (organisers M Lages, Phil McAleer)
AVA/SVG2016 Julie Harris (St Andrews, GJ Burton Memorial Lecture), Daniel Baker (York, AVA David Marr Medal), Andrew Schofiled (Aston Birmingham, CRS Lecture),  Peebles Hydro Hotel,  Peebles (organiser J Martinovic)
SVG2015 David Crundall (Nottingham Trent University), Carnoustie Golf Hotel, Carnoustie, Angus (organiser K Scott-Brown) 
SVG2014 Marko Nardini (University College London), The Marine Hotel, Troon (organiser R Goutcher)
SVG2013 Karl Gegenfurtner (University Giessen), Ballachulish Hotel, Glencoe (organiser D Vishwanath & P Hibbard)
SVG2012 Hannah Smithson (University Oxford), Douneside House, Tarland, Royal Teeside (organisers A Hunt & J Martinovic)
SVG2011 Pascal Mamassian (Paris Descartes, CNRS), Sabhal Mor Ostaig, Sleat, Isle of Skye (organiser M Lages)
SVG2010 Andrew Glennerster (University of Reading), The Royal Dunkeld Hotel Dunkeld, Perthshire  (organiser J Harris)
SVG2009 Peter Neri (University of Aberdeen) Western Isles Hotel, Tobermory, Isle of Mull (organiser M Lages)
SVG2008 David Perret (University of St Andrews) Dundarach Hotel, Pitlochry (organiser A Szymkowiak)
SVG2007 Steven Dakin (University College London) Kinloch Hotel, Blackwaterfoot, Isle of Arran (organiser M Lages)
SVG2006 David Milner (Durham University), Doug Crawford (University of York, Canada), University of Aberdeen, Aberdeen (organisers A Sahraie & J Harris)
SVG2005 John Findlay (University of Durham), Hiroishi Ono (McGill University, Toronto), The Log Cabin Hotel, Kirkmichael (organiser M Lages)
SVG2004 Alan Johnston (University College London), The Burn, Glenesk (organiser PB Hibbard)
SVG2003 Frans Verstraten (University of Utrecht), Julie Harris (University of Newcastle), The Burn, Glenesk (organisers M Lages, & H Paterson)
SVG2002 Nick Wade (University of Dundee), The Burn, Glenesk (organiser PB Hibbard)
SVG2001 Roger Watt (University of Sterling) The Burn, Glenesk (organisers M Lages, P Mamassian, & H Paterson)

Funding from the British Academy (SVG 03), University of Glasgow (SVG 01, 03, 05, 07, 09, 17), St.Andrews (SVG 02, 04) and Aberdeen (SVG 06, 12), SR Research (SVG 12) and Cambride Resarch Systems (SVG 14,15), MDPI Vision (SVG 19), Facebook Reality Labs (SVG 19) is gratefully acknowledged.